HTRS/Novo Nordisk Clinical Scholar Award (CSA)

Application Deadline

January 26, 2024

CSA Application

Submission Portal

2024 HTRS/Novo Nordisk Clinical Scholar Award in Hemophilia and Rare Bleeding Disorders (CSA)

HTRS and Novo Nordisk Inc. announce the availability of one Clinical Scholar Award (CSA) focused on hemophilia and rare bleeding disorders for one academic year: July 1, 2024, through June 30, 2025. 

During the award period, the recipient is mentored by an experienced MD, MD/PhD, or DO working in hemophilia or rare bleeding disorders at an established U.S.-based hemostasis treatment center (HTC), hospital,or university. 

The 2024 CSA award (formerly the HTRS/Novo Nordisk Clinical Fellowship Award) is supported by an educational grant from Novo Nordisk.  

Eligibility Requirement Summary: 

  • Applicants must be U.S.-based MDs or DOs in pediatric or adult medicine 

  • Applicants must have completed the first two years of fellowship in an accredited U.S. Hematology, Hematology/Oncology, or Pediatric Hematology/Oncology training program by July 1, 2024 

  • Applicants up to five (5) years post-fellowship as of July 1, 2024, are eligible to apply. Individuals who have already achieved Associate Professor rank or who have held faculty positions for more than five (5) years post-fellowship are not eligible to apply 

  • Applicants must identify a mentor who is an experienced academic physician or physician-scientist (MD, MD/PhD, or DO) working in Hemophilia and Rare Bleeding Disorders at a U.S.-based HTC, hospital, or university; mentors cannot be HTRS industry members 

  • See the 2024 CSA Request for Applications for full eligibility requirements 

Award Overview

The HTRS/Novo Nordisk Clinical Scholar Award (CSA) provides 12 months of grant support to protect time for a U.S.-based junior faculty MD or DO seeking to develop expertise in the clinical care of patients with hemophilia and other rare bleeding disorders. As part of this 12-month clinical fellowship, awardees must maintain one-on-one mentoring with an experienced academic physician and/or physician scientist (MD, MD/PhD, or DO) working in hemophilia and rare bleeding disorders at a U.S.-based hemostasis treatment center, hospital, or university. 

HTRS partners with Novo Nordisk Inc. to offer this program, which has helped to launch the careers of 17 early-career hematologists with more than $2.5 million combined grant support since 2013. The maximum grant is $119,600 USD, including an $80,000 stipend for the award recipient and a $39,600 stipend for the primary mentor at the U.S.-based HTC, hospital or university identified in the applicant’s proposal. 

HTRS recognizes Novo Nordisk Inc. as a Founding Supporter of the HTRS/Novo Nordisk Clinical Scholar Award in Hemophilia and Rare Bleeding Disorders.  

Questions? Email Jennifer Ziegler, Director, Award Programs and Career Development, at [email protected]


HTRS recognizes Novo Nordisk Inc. as a Founding Supporter of the HTRS/Novo Nordisk CSA Program in Hemophilia and Rare Bleeding Disorders.

 Current HTRS/Novo Nordisk Clinical Scholar Award Recipient

Natasha Bala, MD
Fellow | Rady Children’s Hospital San Diego HTTC / University of California, San Diego
Mentor:  Courtney Thornburg, MD, MS
Supported by an educational grant from Novo Nordisk.

 Previous HTRS/Novo Nordisk Clinical Fellowship Award Recipients

These awards are supported by educational grants from Novo Nordisk Inc. 


Christina E. Amend, MD
Fellow | UW Health Comprehensive Bleeding Disorders Program
Mentor:  John P. Sheehan, MD


Bhavya S. Doshi, MD
Instructor, Division of Hematology | The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Mentors:  Leslie J. Raffini, MD, MSCE, and Michele P. Lambert, MD, MSTR


Katherine A. Regling, DO
Children's Hospital of Michigan
Mentors:  Meera Chitlur, MD, and Michael U. Callaghan, MD


Lorraine A. Cafuir, MD
Emory University, Atlanta, GA; Hemophilia of Georgia Center for Bleeding & Clotting Disorders
Mentor:  Christine L. Kempton, MD     

Jacqueline N. Poston, MD
University of Washington/Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Mentor:  Rebecca Kruse-Jarres, MD, MPH


Genevieve C. Moyer, MD, MSCS
University of Colorado, Denver; University of Colorado Hemophilia and Thrombosis Center
Mentor:  Tyler Buckner, MD, MSc      Co-Mentor: Marilyn Manco-Johnson, MD

Allyson M. Pishko, MD
University of Pennsylvania; Penn Comprehensive Hemophilia Program
Mentor:  Adam Cuker, MD, MS


Michelle T. Chi, MD
University of Tennessee, Memphis, Hemophilia & Thrombosis Treatment Center of Memphis
Mentor:  Sandeep Rajan, MD

Fadi Nossair, MD
Children’s Hospital of Orange County, Rady Children’s Hemophilia and Thrombosis Treatment Center
Mentors:  Courtney Thornburg, MD, and Diane Nugent, MD


Holleh Husseinzadeh, MD

Tiffany Lin, MD


Duc “Bobby” Q. Tran, Jr. MD, MSc

Beth Bouldon Warren, MD 


Stacy E. Croteau, MD, MMS

Michael Silvey, DO 

2013 :

Tyler W. Bucker, MD, MSc




 Contact Jennifer Ziegler, Director, Awards Programs and Career Development, [email protected].