HTRS Student Research Award (SRA)

Award Overview

The HTRS Student Research Award (SRA) comprises an 8–10 week program aimed at introducing medical, PhD, MD/PhD, and PharmD students to the field of hemostasis and thrombosis by supporting the students’ work on targeted research projects focused on hemostasis and thrombosis. Proposed projects may be lab-based, clinical, or epidemiologic in design. As part of the program, students are paired with research mentors who assist the applicant with the development of a research project plan, oversee the research project, and provide career guidance and support.


Application Deadline: March 8, 2024 at 11:59 PM ET


2024 SRA Request for Proposals


2024 SRA Application

Mentors Wanted

If you are willing to serve as a mentor for future awards cycles, please email Jennifer Ziegler, [email protected] and include your research area (platelets, coagulation & fibrinolysis, vascular biology, thrombotic or hemorrhagic disorders) and whether your focus is clinical, basic, translational, epidemiology or public health.  To learn more about mentor eligibility and responsibilities, please see the Request for Applications.

2023 Student Research Award Recipients

HTRS is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2023 Student Research Award.

Siobhan L. Branfield
Oakland University

Mentor: Bryce Kerlin, MD
Project Title: " Characterizing platelet dysfunction in Nephrotic Syndrome with the potential development of a platelet specific biomarker to detect the early onset of Thromboembolism in Nephrotic Syndrome." 

Alexandra B. Forman
Harvard Medical School

Mentors:  Rushad Patell, MBBS, and Robert Flaumenhaft, MD, PhD
Project Title: “Evaluation of circulating protein disulfide isomerase levels as a biomarker for thromboembolism risk in patients with myeloproliferative neoplasms”

Tony A. Owusu
Icahn School of Medicine at Mt. Sinai

Mentor:  Jeffrey Zwicker, MD
Project Title: “Bleeding and thrombosis in patients with cancer and acute venous thromboembolism requiring urgent surgery”

 Previous HTRS Student Research Award Recipients


Dylan T. Bertovich
Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine

Samuel A.P. Short
University of Vermont Larner College of Medicine

Yakun “Queena” Zhao, MS
University of Toledo, College of Medicine and Life Sciences


J. Cameron Barton
Oklahoma State University (OSU) College of Osteopathic Medicine

Madelaine Duarte
Campbell University School of Osteopathic Medicine

Amelia Wilhelm
University of Washington Medical Scientist Training Program

Elizabeth York
Emory University




 Contact Jennifer Ziegler, Director, Awards Programs and Career Development, [email protected].